New Forest Hounds

New Forest Hounds

The New Forest Hounds were formed in 1781 . Their country then included not only the New Forest, but substantial parts of what is now Wilton and Hursley Hambledon country.

The New Forest itself was established as a Royal Hunting Forest in 1079 by William the Conqueror although there was undoubtedly already hunting taking place before William arrived.

The New Forest Hounds are currently a Committee run pack with Alan Brown, Graham Ferris and Carol Lovell as Acting Masters.

Michael Woodhouse is the Huntsman and is just starting his 14th season, Kieran Hawkes is our kennelman.

The New Forest Hounds are responsible for the collection of the majority of pony road casualties in the New Forest, a service which benefits not only the hounds, but also the New Forest Commoners, who own the ponies that roam the Forest, but also the visitors to the New Forest who can enjoy the Forest without seeing dead stock by the side of the road.

Further information is available from